Rishabh Pant, Cheteshwar Pujara, Jasprit Bumrah, Prasidh Krishna to play for Leicestershire against Rohit Sharma-Led Indians in warm-up

Ahead of the fifth scheduled Test match against England on July 1, Team India will close the horns with Leicestershire in a four-day warm-up match starting on Thursday. The rescheduled match is part of a five-match test series last year that had to be delayed after the fourth Test due to a Covid-19 epidemic in the Indian camp. The warm-up fixture will be an opportunity for the Men in Blue to get themselves in the new state after a long time before the very important fifth test. The series is in the favor of the visitors, who led 2-1 after defeating the hosts in the fourth Test at the Oval last year with 157 runs.

Meanwhile, star players from the Indian team Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah and Prasidh Krishna have been added to the rival Leicestershire County Cricket Club (LCCC) team. They will play under county captain Sam Evans.

“Indian superstars Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah and Prasidh Krishna will all be working with the Leicestershire team, led by opening batsman Sam Evans,” the English club said in a statement.

“LCCC, BCCI and the ECB have all agreed to make the four players of the possession camp part of the Running Foxes side, to allow all members of the traveling party to take part in the match (subject to fitness ).

“The game will be played with 13 players per side to provide further flexibility and help manage bowling workload.”

Captain Rohit Sharma will lead India for their warm-up match against Leicestershire, as well as in renewed Test match against England, starting on 1 July in Edgbaston.

“India arrived in Leicestershire on Sunday, before undertaking their first training and non-session on Monday morning at Uptonsteel County Ground,” the English Cub statement added.

“The world’s second-best ranking has trained three days before tomorrow’s four-day match against the Running Foxes, which continues in early July in the renewed fifth Test against England at Edgbaston.”

India: Rohit Sharma (Capt), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, KS Bharat (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj and Umesh Yadav.


Leicestershire CCC: Sam Evans (Capt), Rehan Ahmed, Sam Bates (wk), Nat Bowley, Will Davis, Joey Evison, Louis Kimber, Abi Sakande, Roman Walker, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rihabh Pant, Jasprit Bumrah and Prasidh Krishna.

With ANI inputs

Topics mentioned in this article

Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (0) in /home/rvpgmedi/public_html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 5275