Yasir Shah returns to Pakistan test team for tour to Sri Lanka

Yasir Shah will return to test cricket after nearly a year of absence after Pakistan named the leg spinner in an 18-strong squad for next month’s two-match series in Sri Lanka.

Limited Time Offer Express Premium with ad-lite for only Rs 2 / day Click here to subscribe

Shah has struggled with his fitness since performing against the West Indies last year. He played a key role in Pakistan’s 2-1 victory over Sri Lanka seven years ago, with 24 wickets.

“Our spin department is encouraged with the return of Yasir Shah, who proved he was a match winner in Sri Lanka on our last tour,” Chief Electoral Officer Mohammad Wasim said on Wednesday.

Shah has replaced off-spinner Sajid Khan, who played in the last home Test series against Australia which Pakistan lost 1-0.

Uncapped all-rounder Salman Ali Agha and left-arm spinner Mohammad Nawaz were also named in the team.

Nawaz was selected for the series against Australia, but was later withdrawn due to injury. Agha has consistently performed on the domestic circuit.

The first test is in Galle from 16-20 July, while Colombo will host the second match from 24-28 July. Pakistan will fly out on July 6 and will also play a three-day warm-up match from July 11-13.

The matches will be part of the ICC World Championship Test.

Squad: Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan, Abdullah Shafique, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Nauman Ali, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Afridi, Shan Masood and Yasir Shah

Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (0) in /home/rvpgmedi/public_html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 5275