Phoenix Suns’ Monty Williams voted for the second year in a row by the coaching staff for top coach

Phoenix Suns coach Monty Williams – architect of the NBA’s best regular season team – has been named coach of the National Basketball Coaches Association for a second consecutive time, sources told ESPN.

The award, named in honor of the late NBCA Director Michael H. Goldberg, is based on a vote of the league’s 30 head coaches.

The league will announce the NBA’s Coach of the Year winner later in the playoffs – an award based on media votes.

The Suns set a franchise record with a 64-18 regular season record and will be No. 1. 1 seed in the NBA playoffs. Under Williams, Phoenix became the first team to overcome its winning total with at least 11 games in three consecutive years.

Among other coaches who received votes: Willie Green of New Orleans, Taylor Jenkins of Memphis, Ty Lue of Clippers, Gregg Popovich of San Antonio and Erik Spoelstra of Miami, said sources.

Williams oversaw the evolution of machine precision with these Suns during his three years as coach. Phoenix participated in the 1969-1970 New York Knicks as the only teams to end up with a better percentage of victory on the road than the home victory percentage of any other team in a season, according to ESPN Stats & Information survey.

Also, the Suns were 47-0 this season when they led after three quarters – the best in the shot-clock era. The only two other teams that went undefeated in this scenario in the regular season included both LeBron James – the 2017-2018 Cleveland Cavaliers and the 2019-2020 Los Angeles Lakers, according to ESPN Stats & Information research.

Under the Suns’ dominance this season: A franchise record of 18-game winning streak and three separate winning streaks of nine-plus games in a season when the rest of the NBA had a combined four streaks of nine or more victories.

The Suns ranked in the top five in offensive and defensive efficiency this season, going 33-9 in overtime games – the best record in such situations in the NBA since the 2015-2016 Golden State Warriors, according to Stats & Information research.

Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (0) in /home/rvpgmedi/public_html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 5275